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For more information, please visit the Georgia Trucking Portal at 

www.cvisn.dor.ga.gov/Home or scan the QR code. 

 

 

 

IRP Trip Permits, Motor Fuel Use Tax Permits (MFTP), & Hunters Permits 
 
IRP Trip and Hunters permits as well as Motor Fuel Use Tax permits are all purchased online, electronically via the 
Georgia Trucking Portal at: www.cvisn.dor.ga.gov/TripPermits/Public/MotorCarrier . 
 
Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division Permits: 

1. IRP TRIP PERMIT $30.00  
2. HUNTERS PERMITS $30.00  
3. MOTOR FUEL USE TAX PERMIT $16.00  

 
When do I need IRP Trip Permit? 

A 72-hour Trip Permit is required for out-of-state based vehicles with non-apportioned license plates and those with IRP 
apportioned licensed plates which are not apportioned for Georgia.   Permits must be secured prior to entry and must 
remain with the vehicle while in the state. Trip permits allow interstate and intrastate operation in Georgia.  Duplicates 
and photocopies are not acceptable. 
 
Georgia-based carriers, who are not apportioned to travel in another IRP state, but wish to do so, must contact that 
state or the wire services to obtain any needed Trip Permit and information on other requirements of operation. If not 
apportioned for it before entering any other IRP member state, a Trip Permit must be secured and carried in the cab of 
the vehicle for which issued or the vehicle may be subject to full registration fees in that state and /or fined. Georgia 
does not sell trip permits to Georgia-based carriers. 
 
When do I need Motor Fuel Use Tax Permits? 

If you need to travel out-of-state before you receive your IFTA credentials, you must purchase fuel trip permits to travel 
in IFTA jurisdictions and for your reentry into Georgia. Your Georgia Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit must be purchased and 
validated before you reenter the state. A 10-day Motor Fuel Use Tax Permit will be available online. 
 
When do I need Hunter’s Permit? 

Georgia based owner-operator who was previously leased to a motor carrier and whose current year tag was in the 
carrier’s name but is no longer leased to them, and as a result has no IRP registration. This permit allows an operator to 
move his empty vehicle from place to place, as needed, in looking for employment. 
 
This permit is valid for seven (7) days for a fee of $30.00 and will be available online. The original Unladen Vehicle 
Registration- Hunter Permit must be carried in the vehicle described and a duplicate or photocopy is not acceptable. 
Georgia will recognize a valid Unladen Vehicle Registration-Hunter Permit issued by another state and allow travel in this 
state without the purchase of a Georgia Unladen Vehicle Registration -Hunter Permit. Other states will recognize a valid 
Georgia Unladen Vehicle Registration- Hunter Permit. 
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